Medical Treatment.

The Defence Department will provide medical treatment for discharged soldiers who are suffering from a recurrence of illness arising out of and directly caused by their service in the Forces, such as the reopening of a wound, muscular rheumatism, neurasthenia, pneumonia, or any other ailment which renders them unfit to follow their daily avocations. Application for such treatment may be made personally to the nearest Defence Office, to the nearest Hospital Superintendent, or to the Assistant Director of Medical Services of the district. Application may also be made by letter or telephone to the Assistant Director of Medical Services in Auckland, Wellington, Christchurch, or Dunedin, or to the Director-General of Medical Services at Wellington. Private treatment at the Government expense is not allowed.

Repatriation Board's Organization.

What is being done to assist the disabled soldier while in hospital to prepare himself for civilian life is described in a separate article. The fit soldier will, as a rule, show the spirit of initiative and enterprise which won such a good opinion for New Zealand troops during the war. He will, however, in many cases require help to quickly re-establish himself in an occupation or profession, and in this effort he is entitled to secure the assistance of the State, associated with helpers well acquainted with business conditions.

This form of help for the soldier is organized by the Repatriation Board. The central body comprises the following Ministers of the Crown: The Hon. W. H. Herries (Minister of Railways), who is Chairman during the absence of the Right Hon. W. F. Massey (Prime Minister) at the Peace Conference; the Hon. W. D. S. MacDonald (Minister of Agriculture); the Hon. J. A. Hanan (Minister of

Education); and the Hon. D. H. Guthrie (Minister of Lands). The Secretary of the Board is Mr. J. D. Gray, Old Parliament Buildings, Wellington.

The Director of Repatriation is Mr. J. R. Samson, Aitken Street, Wellington; and there are the following District Repatriation Officers associated with the District Repatriation Boards in the four chief centres:—

Auckland District Repatriation Officer: New Zealand Insurance Building, Queen Street, Auckland.

Wellington District Repatriation Officer: Nathan's Building, opposite General Post Office, Wellington.

Christchurch District Repatriation Officer: National Mutual Building, Hereford Street, Christchurch.

Dunedin District Repatriation Officer: Water Street, Dunedin.

The Repatriation Department also has offices and a paid staff at the following centres:—

Hamilton.
Gisborne.
Napier.
New Plymouth.
Wanganui.
Palmerston North.
Melson.
Blenheim.
Greymouth.
Timaru.
Oamaru.
Invercargill.

To make the organization easily accessible to the soldier throughout the Dominion a further series of Committees of honorary members is being established in the following towns and such other centres as may be recommended by District Boards:—

Kaitaia.	Morrinsville.
Whangarei.	Thames.
Dargaville.	Coromandel.
Helensville.	Paeroa.
Cambridge.	Te Aroha.